Black Box on windshield behind mirror

Discussion in 'Fiesta ST Chat and Discussion' started by MLKN, Apr 23, 2014.

1. MLKN

MLKN Active Member

I have searched the internet and other forums and have not gotten a satisfactory answer. What is the black box mounted on the windshield behind the mirror? Most importantly, can it be used to track my movements to the racetrack? Thanks.

2. Register or Sign in

Advertisement Sponsor

3. ST-in-Mich

ST-in-Mich Member

I believe that is where the compass/thermometer is housed.

4. Neely2005

Neely2005 Member

The thermometer is inside the car?

5. ST-in-Mich

ST-in-Mich Member

Sounds strange to me but everything i could find about it says it 100% has the compass and possibly the thermometer. Im no expert though.

6. Mikeygti

Mikeygti Active Member

Pretty sure its where the Dilithium crystals are housed :cool:

7. MLKN

MLKN Active Member

I suspected it contained dark matter

8. k757

k757 Active Member

My guess..... sirius antenna

9. WScottCross

WScottCross Well-Known Member

I had Sirius on my '11 SES and the antenna for that was the black box that the whip antenna screws into. We still have that, so why add another box?

10. AlanBDahl

AlanBDahl Active Member

I believe it's where the GPS antenna is located.

11. DirtyBlueshirt

DirtyBlueshirt Active Member

According to the Ford reps, it is the GPS receiver.

12. FordService

FordService Official Ford Representative

It's the compass module. :)
    DirtyBlueshirt, I think you were the first person who asked me about this?

Meagan

13. DirtyBlueshirt

DirtyBlueshirt Active Member

Compass module, that's it. Yes, I did ask originally. I couldn't find the original thread.

14. Firesail

Firesail Active Member

Meagan,

Thanks for clearing that up. :)

15. FordService

FordService Official Ford Representative

You're welcome! :cat:

Meagan

16. David Heller

David Heller New Member