Removing and replacing the windshield washer reservoir

Discussion in 'Fiesta ST Maintenance' started by hyatt, Feb 9, 2015.

1. hyatt

hyatt Active Member

Hey gang, my washer reservoir had an unfortunate accident and my dealer is quoting me almost $300 in parts and labor to replace it. How involved is this to attempt myself (I'm a reasonably competent home mechanic)? Does the bumper need to come off? Any information would be helpful. I know the part is the same for all hatchback Fiestas from 2011, and runs about $60.

Thanks

2. Register or Sign in

Advertisement Sponsor

3. Zormecteon

Zormecteon Active Member

Had to have it done myself..... at about that cost.

4. ryst

ryst Active Member

If it requires taking the bumper off, the best write up I've seen is here http://www.fiestast.org/forum/fiest...-intercooler-installed-rallysport-direct.html obviously extra instructions here Because they replace the intercooler.

But my guess is that it's accessible through inside the wheel well. I would take the wheel off and see how easy it is to peel back the wheel well liner and get to it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

5. hyatt

hyatt Active Member

So I had a poke around and it seems like it will be doable without removing the bumper. In less than 10 minutes I pulled the headlight and had good access with what looks like plenty of room to pull it out from the top. I need to get under the car and see what the attachment is down there.

6. RodMoe

RodMoe Well-Known Member

Removal

1. 1) Remove LH fender splash shield.
      Refer to: Fender Splash Shield (501-02 Front End Body Panels, Removal and Installation).
    SER~us~en~file=E116215_EUR_400_JPG~gen~ref.jpg

1. 2) Remove LH headlamp.
      Refer to: Headlamp Assembly (417-01 Exterior Lighting, Removal and Installation).
    1. 3) NOTICE: Make sure the open end of the hose is secured above the fluid level in the reservoir.
    SER~us~en~file=E116216_EUR_580_JPG~gen~ref.jpg
    Installation